Run along…

Ok, so I’ve decided that blogging just about writing isn’t going to motivate me to blog, since it’s only one part of my very busy life. So I’m going to chuck in talk of Insanity classes, dating men from the Armed Forces (as I said to Gemma earlier, “I fail to find civilian men attractive”) and ad hoc horse and teacher talk.

I’ve managed some writing this week. Usually if I set my alarm for 5.30 am I can just about crawl out of bed by 6.10 am, get through the ringroad traffic before it builds up and be at my desk with mug of coffee for 7.45 am. That gives me until 8.30 to write. Yes, it’s tight! The temporary traffic lights at Arnold really have not helped. It only takes a meeting, or a resource I’d forgotten to print, or an email about somethingorother and the time has completely lapsed. Nonetheless, I reckon I’m about 10k up from where I was during my last blog post. Problem at the moment is how to make Book 2 as exciting as Book 1. I have three deaths planned but they don’t come quickly and the story arc for both Lucian and Eawan requires lone questing for truth and redemption. How do I do that without falling into the usual trope pit holes? I am fermenting an idea for Eawan’s story, but Lucian’s… Well… Sigh.

Also, I may leave Milo dead. The role he was going to play in Book 2 is now redundant due to the changes I’ve needed to make to Lucian’s storyline, which means I’m going to struggle to find a meaningful role for him. It’s a shame. I’ve spent the past 2 years trying to keep him alive in Book 1 by constantly rewriting his storyline to give his plot greater meaning. It turned out good, I love his story and I’m sure my readers will too, but… Yea, it might be time to say goodnight.

So that’s where it stands at the moment. Nothing too exciting to report.

My latest fad (and I do go through many) is my gym classes. I’ve lost 2 pounds last week and 3 pounds the week before my doing Insanity three times a week, plus spinning, gym sessions and a dance step class. I’m finding it really empowering to work my body up to a fat burning rate. After about five minutes in a class, I’ll go into a zone where I’m no longer aware of those around me and I’m completely focused on what the instructor is showing me and how to push my body to its limits. It’s becoming quite addictive and a great way to boost my self-esteem and stamina. I managed 7 minutes of running on the treadmill today, which doesn’t sound a lot, but running has always been where my stamina most flounders. I am hoping to do 7 minutes a day on the treadmill this week and then perhaps increase it. Come Spring, I’d love to actually be running properly. It’d be a great way of burning off the stubborn pouches of fat I have on my thighs, upper arms and midriff.

So yea. See how long that lasts. So far it’s been 5 weeks and I’m feeling good for it.

About Raula

Hello everyone, I am a twenty-something indie author and this blog is used to (occaisonally) discuss the turmoil of creating, editing and publishing a novel in this modern day. My latest project is a medieval fantasy, with lots of court intrigue, sword fighting, sex plays and backstabbing. My characters come at the centre of every piece of fiction I write because it's their troubles and choices that we can all relate to. The lavish settings and historical details are just trappings. If you are interested in this type of fiction, or you just want to share your writing journey with someone, by all means follow my blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

