21,930 words…

It’s a fair amount. 5,000 words more than my undergrad dissertation but woefully less than I had hoped to write this summer. At least my type up is completed now which means I can get on with the business of story writing again. So far, I’m pleased with the overall pace of events and the way characters seem to be developing themselves nicely. Ailis, my anti-heroine, is certainly proving to be a dangerous character. She’s the type of woman who, if she had similar wealth and connections in the modern day, would likely be a drug-addict and celebrity personality. The hero and her husband, Edward, has stayed a little out the limelight in the first 20,000 words, but I quite like doing that. I like throwing in red herrings as to who the romantic hero might be and at the moment I have Jamie, the illegitimate son come stable hand, and Christopher, the typical rich dandy. Prue, my heroine, has really found her voice. I’m glad I’m not slipping back into Evelyn mode, the kickass, bloodthirsty mercenary heroine of my last project. Prue is a very godly and unwordly girl, who displays an unusual sense of maturity for someone of her age. I want to play with that more in future chapters. I want her to be lulled into a false sense of her own virtue so I can thwack her with some fallibility.

Anyway. It’s going well. Shame I’ve only one more day until I start my new job and my writing time will be reduced significantly. But on the other hand, I think another week at home would drive me crazy.

In other news…

Mum is in a mard with my dad and me because things didn’t go smoothly on a dog walk yesterday. Misty schooled well yesterday and her old owner is coming up this aft for a ride. A year ago today I sold Bailey 😦 I’ve stopped talking to Nick because he doesn’t want to date anyone so soon after his last girlfriend (wish he’d bloody told me three weeks ago). Liverpool play Spurs in two hours and I’m like fuck whoa we better win this one. And I’m fucking nervous about my new job! What if I turn up at the wrong time? What if I say something stupid? What if I make some massive epic error? Arrrgh! 

Yea. Blog post complete.

Sammy runs into the lake to avoid being caught!

 

About Raula

Hello everyone, I am a twenty-something indie author and this blog is used to (occaisonally) discuss the turmoil of creating, editing and publishing a novel in this modern day. My latest project is a medieval fantasy, with lots of court intrigue, sword fighting, sex plays and backstabbing. My characters come at the centre of every piece of fiction I write because it's their troubles and choices that we can all relate to. The lavish settings and historical details are just trappings. If you are interested in this type of fiction, or you just want to share your writing journey with someone, by all means follow my blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

