Another fall…

So there is a reason why I have left it a fortnight updating the blog. Literally hours after making my first entry about my new horse, she bronked again and this time threw me into a fence and caused an almighty bruise on my back.

My knee-jerk reaction was to get rid of her. She’d thrown me off twice in the five times I had ridden her. She is clearly too much for me to handle and I could do without all the stress thankyouverymuch.

Then came the reality that her price had over halved in two weeks. Her former trainers weren’t willing to take her back in good faith but rather wanted expensive sales livery and commission on resale. I had a couple of enquiries from an ad I put up but the moment I revealed that it bronks the enthusiasm of the prospective buyers deteriorated.

I booked her in for physio who noticed some muscle tension and spasms along the centre of her back, so she’s been on a course of anti-inflammatory drugs to bring that down (reduce £100 from Laura’s bank account). Last Friday she had her teeth checked and she has wolf teeth, which are nuisance little buggers that sit close to the bit.  She expects pain when anyone puts their fingers in there and has been resisting the bridle. It’s also a common cause of rearing (did I mention her front end tends to go up before her back?). Anyway, upshot is, with an extra £70 from Laura’s poorly bank account, she’ll have those removed.

In the meantime, she had started bronking on the lunge for me. It had almost got to the point where I was too nervous to do anything with her and was looking at desperate measures, like selling her off quick to a dealer.

I then swallowed my pride somewhat and agreed a weekly deal for the local professional to lunge and ride her four times a week. She’s had her first week with him and has taken big steps forward. She apparently tried it on with him on the lunge during the first training session but has been amenable since. “Very green,” is the verdict. “Like she’s only been backed a week.” Just goes to show what can happen when a young horse is put in the rough and over-confident hands of an amateur trainer who then tells the innocent new buyer to not give the poor horse a settling in period when being moved for the third time in as many months.

Hopefully now she’s had the chance to get to new her new place and new people we will start moving forward. I got to watch her being ridden on Friday evening, though I bottled out of riding her. Today I went and rode a riding school horse so I could get a critique of my riding position (nothing major, just need to bend my elbows, be more assertive, and fecking relax!) I lunged her for the first time since her last major bronk sesh and she was absolutely fine, if anything a little lazy.

So maybe the updates will come a little more frequently. If I go quiet, you know why …

 

 

About Raula

Hello everyone, I am a twenty-something indie author and this blog is used to (occaisonally) discuss the turmoil of creating, editing and publishing a novel in this modern day. My latest project is a medieval fantasy, with lots of court intrigue, sword fighting, sex plays and backstabbing. My characters come at the centre of every piece of fiction I write because it's their troubles and choices that we can all relate to. The lavish settings and historical details are just trappings. If you are interested in this type of fiction, or you just want to share your writing journey with someone, by all means follow my blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

